How Much Does Tree Removal Cost?

Large trees, even landmark ones, sometimes have to be removed when they’re dead, dying, or growing too close to other structures. How much it costs to cut down a tree varies depending on where you live, the tree’s height and diameter, how accessible it is, and other factors. On average, you can expect to pay $750 to remove a tree.

While tree removal is costly, it’s often better to spend the money up front rather than risk a tree falling and causing injury or damage to nearby property. Keep reading to find out what tree removal costs and the complications that may drive up your price.

Average Tree Removal Cost

Removing a tree can range anywhere from $150 to $2,000, with the average landing at $750, according to Angi. Shorter trees will come in on the low end of the range, while larger trees can run between $800 to $2,000. A tall, hard-to-access tree can cost even more — as much as $10,000.

If you have multiple trees to remove, the costs can really add up. While many people throw it on a credit card, that can be an expensive solution. If you need financing, you might consider getting a home equity line of credit (HELOC), which allows you to borrow against the equity in your home as you need it.

Another option is to take out a personal loan for home improvement. These loans don’t require equity in your home or collateral, and many lenders offer same- or next-day funding. However, rates can be higher than home equity options.

Cost of Tree Removal by Type

A tree’s size generally impacts cost more than type. However, some species of trees are not as dense or as compact as others, making them easier (and less expensive) to remove. Determining the type of tree you need to have removed can also give you an idea of its height at maturity and provide insight into potential costs. Here’s a look at costs based on tree type.

Tree Type

Average Removal Cost

Oak $200–$2,000
Cedar $250–$1,500
Pine $250–$1,500
Maple $250–$2,000
Ash $250–$1,800
Palm $650–$1,500
Aspen $1,000–$1,800

Recommended: Typical Landscaping Costs

Factors That Affect Tree Removal Cost

The cost of tree removal typically includes cutting down the tree, cutting it into pieces, and removing the debris. How complicated and time-consuming this process will be determines the price.

To find the right contractor, you may want to call multiple tree removal services and compare quotes on the project. Make sure to ask what exactly their price includes and what extra services or fees may come up.

Here’s a look at some key factors that can affect your tree removal quote.

Size of the Tree

Generally the larger the tree, the higher the cost. Price can make a particularly big jump when a tree exceeds 80 feet tall. At this point, the removal company will need a crane to access the highest branches, along with additional staff to work the machine. This can add as much as $500 to the job.

Here’s a look at tree removal price by tree size:

Size of Tree

Average Removal Cost

Up to 30’ $150–$450
30–60’ $450–$1,200
60–80’ $800–$1,500
Over 80’ $1,000–$2,000

A Tree That Has Already Fallen

Generally, a fallen tree will cost considerably less to remove than one that’s still standing, since the team doesn’t need to do any climbing or careful cutting. It’s just a matter of cutting it up, then removing the debris. You can expect to pay just $75 to $150 to remove a fallen tree.

That said, you generally don’t want to let a dying tree get to the point of falling, as it can do damage to nearby property and/or harm someone standing nearby.

Accessibility

If the tree you need to have removed is in a hard-to-reach or unsafe area, it can make the job harder for the team. This can add 25% to 50% to the total cost of removal. For example, a tree that has heavy branches near your home or is close to the local power lines takes more time and care to remove. A tree that is hard to get to due to obstacles can also be more costly. If possible, consider taking down fences or other structures in the way to reduce costs.

Number of Trees Needing Removal

The more trees you need to have removed, generally the higher the cost. However, you’ll typically save on the cost per tree, since the workers and equipment are already on your property. When multiple trees need to come down, some companies will charge by the acre instead of by specific tree count. Depending on how many trees cover the area, this can cost anywhere from $500 to $6,000 per acre.

Emergency Tree Removal

If a storm has caused a tree to lean perilously close to your home, you’ll want to bring in a tree removal company as soon as possible. Emergency tree removal generally costs more than standard tree removal, particularly after a storm, when these services are in high demand. A particularly urgent tree situation could run as high as $5,000.

Your homeowners insurance may cover the cost of tree removal relating to storm damage, so it’s worth checking your policy or calling them to find out. If a tree has already landed on your home or car, you may want to reach out to your insurer before getting it removed, since they may need to send an agent to assess the situation.

Cleanup and Debris Removal

Another factor that can impact the cost of tree removal is how you choose to handle the debris and stump. Options for debris removal typically include hauling away the tree (which runs around $70), putting it through a chipper so you can use it as mulch (on average, $95), or splitting it into firewood for your home (around $70).

If you don’t want to be left with a stump, the company will typically grind it up using a specialized stump grinder. The cost is around $100 to $150 for the first stump, and $50 for each additional stump.

Recommended: Five Curb Appeal Ideas for Your House

How to Determine If a Tree Should Be Removed

The biggest danger unhealthy trees pose is falling — onto people, homes, cars, or power lines. But even a healthy tree may need to be removed if it’s growing too close to a house or electrical wires. If you’re considering putting your home on the market, removing a threatening tree can give potential buyers one less thing to worry about.

Here are some telltale signs you might have to remove a tree:

•   It’s no longer growing leaves

•   Branches drop randomly (not related to high winds or storms)

•   It’s been significantly damaged by a storm

•   It has dead or dying branches

•   It’s growing too close to your home or other structures

•   The trunk is rotten and hollow

Generally, the first step is to hire a professional arborist to give you an opinion on your tree’s health. Some conditions may look concerning but not necessarily be damaging to the tree. Also, many cities require an arborist’s evaluation before you’re allowed to remove a tree.

Recommended: Top Home Improvements That Increase Your Home’s Value

How Much Does DIY Tree Removal Cost?

Tree removal can be dangerous and is generally best left to the professionals. If you have the experience and skills to do a DIY tree removal, however, you may be able to save some money. You’ll need several items for safety, including gloves, protective goggles, steel-toed boots, a hard hat, chainsaw chaps, and earplugs, which can run $200 to $300. In addition, you’ll need a chainsaw (which can run $50 to $150) and felling wedges (around $20 for six).

If you don’t have the necessary gear, you can expect to invest anywhere from $260 to $470 for a DIY tree removal. However, the risk involved may not be worth the cost savings. Tree removal professionals have access to tools and equipment that make the job significantly safer, including tree-rigging ropes, blocks and pulleys, hooks, ladders, lowering devices, and specialized saws.

The Takeaway

On average, homeowners pay $750 for a single tree removal. Your price will vary depending on the size of the tree, its accessibility, how many trees you’re getting removed, and what you want to do with the debris and stump.

A good first step is to hire an arborist to evaluate your trees and make an informed recommendation about how to manage any risk. If you learn that one or more of your trees needs to come down, it’s a good idea to get quotes from at least three tree removal companies. Generally, attempting DIY tree removal is not a good idea.

Think twice before turning to high-interest credit cards. Consider a SoFi personal loan instead. SoFi offers competitive fixed rates and same-day funding. Checking your rate takes just a minute.


SoFi’s Personal Loan was named NerdWallet’s 2024 winner for Best Personal Loan overall.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Non affiliation: SoFi isn’t affiliated with any of the companies highlighted in this article.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

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10 Steps for the Perfect Bathroom Remodel

A bathroom remodel is a major project. Whether you’re looking to do a cosmetic refresh or a total gut job with all new high-end fixtures, the process takes planning, time, effort, and money. But the end product can be well worth it: A beautifully updated bathroom can significantly improve your home, bump up its resale value, and make your everyday life more enjoyable.

How much will it cost? Depending on the scope of work, a bathroom remodel typically ranges from $9,000 to $48,000, but many homeowners in the U.S. will pay around $28,500 on average. If you live in a major metro area (where the cost of living is generally higher), however, you may pay as much as $75,000 for a bathroom remodel.

Your bathroom budget will greatly depend on the purpose of your remodel. Whatever you have in mind, these 10 steps can help you plan appropriately, anticipate problems, and ensure you end up with a room you love.

Why Homeowners Remodel Bathrooms

Here’s a look at the most common reasons why homeowners decide to remodel a bathroom. For many, it can be a combination of reasons.

Updating the Look

Happy with the layout of your current bathroom but feel it just needs a refresh? Focus your attention on material selection, and perhaps add new cabinetry or plumbing fixtures. You can find plenty of inspiration online, including ideas for how to make a small bathroom look bigger.

Even if you’re not making a major structural change, you’ll still want to pay attention to the age of your home and the remodels done by previous homeowners. After all, laying new tile over a foundation rife with mold or making do with an outdated electrical system may mean inviting big problems down the road.

Resale Value

If you’re updating your bathroom in preparation for selling your home, think about what potential buyers might look for. While it’s impossible to anticipate what any one individual might want in a new home, you can research your local real estate market to learn what appeals to the majority of homeowners.

You also can find out the resale value of bathroom remodels by using an online home project value estimator.

Better Functionality and More Storage

Perhaps you’ve always hated how the door hits the vanity as it swings open, or you’re tired of stacking toilet paper on the tank and seeing makeup on the counter. Or maybe you never use the bathtub and long for a large shower stall, or would prefer two sinks instead of one to expedite the family’s morning rush. Is your bathroom a dark, moist cave? It may be crying out for more natural light and better ventilation.

This level of bathroom remodel may require gutting the entire space, possibly rearranging the fixtures and rerouting plumbing. Not only will your bathroom be brand new in that case, it could be higher end, too.

Recommended: 32 Inexpensive Ways to Refresh Your Home

How to Plan a Bathroom Remodel

Embarking on a bathroom remodel can be daunting, and there are many parts of the process where things can go disastrously wrong. What follows are 10 steps that can help streamline the process and ensure your remodel is a success.

1. Determine What Your Bathroom Remodel Should Achieve

When starting any home improvement project that requires a good chunk of time and cash, you want to determine what the overall goal is. Is it to expand the existing space? To add a shower or a tub? To improve your home’s value? To update a vintage bathroom to one that is more modern in design and functionality? Your answers will factor into your design and budget.

Other considerations to make when planning a bathroom remodel include:

•   How many people will use the room?

•   How much time do you spend in the bathroom in the morning, afternoon, and evening?

•   What’s your routine? How does your current space hinder it? How could a new space improve it?

•   Do you just want something that’s easy to clean? Or do you want to improve the look for resale?

2. Research and Budget

Before you get too far with planning, it’s good to know how much bathroom you can afford. Depending on the type of bathroom reno you’re looking to do, costs average between $600 and $800 per square foot, according to Remodeling magazine’s 2024 Cost vs Value Report.

Before proceeding with your dream plans, think about whether you’re after a basic update, a mid- to upper-range remodel, or a deluxe spa getaway. It’s also a good idea to factor in a cushion of 20% for unforeseen costs. An online home improvement cost calculator can help you get a ballpark estimate of what your plan will cost.

One way to cut expenses is to avoid moving the existing plumbing and wiring. Some homeowners focus on just a shower remodel, which can run anywhere from $500 to $20,000.

3. Hire the Right Professionals

Given the complexity of rerouting plumbing, laying tile and flooring, and installing vanities and toilets, you may need to hire a few different professionals to get the job done:

•   Interior designer, to reimagine the space and source materials

•   Architect, to handle structural changes

•   Plumber

•   Electrician

•   Tile installer

•   General contractor, to manage them all

What exactly will all these folks be doing, besides spending your money? We’ll walk you through it.

First, a professional interior designer will think of things a homeowner will not. For instance: which way the cabinet doors open, if there’s room for a washer/dryer, how a skylight could brighten the space, or ways to rearrange the room in a creative way that maximizes both functionality and efficiency.

On the other hand, if you know what you want and where to find the products you need — and have an eye for good design — then you might take on the design process yourself.

A general contractor will hire and supervise the various subcontractors, and keep the project on schedule and on budget. If you have DIY experience and are comfortable tackling (or supervising) the demolition, construction, and installation, you may not need a general contractor. Just remember that once you start exposing layers of old work, a straightforward update can devolve into something more complex.

For major structural changes, you’ll want to hire an architect, and consider bringing in an experienced plumber and electrician, too. In some places, it’s required by law.

While you’re keeping an eye on the budget, don’t forget about your valuable time. Even with DIY experience, a bathroom remodel can take homeowners several times as long as a professional to complete — and your results may not be up to your high standards. To keep your budget on track, you might take on simpler tasks like demo and painting and hire out the rest.

Recommended: How to Pay for Emergency Home Repairs

4. Refine Your Bathroom Remodel Plan

If your dream bathroom couldn’t ever fit in the space you have, think about what’s on the other side of the bathroom walls. Can you steal square footage from an adjacent closet, adjoining bedroom, or underused hallway? Is it possible to punch out an exterior wall to add square footage?

Other options to consider: whether you want the toilet out in the open or housed in its own private water closet, and what kind of special storage you may need — for hair tools, makeup, and other everyday essentials.

Choosing the style of bathroom you want can also be tricky. You may love the look of the industrial-style bathroom in your favorite restaurant, but will it look right in your Craftsman bungalow? Designers recommend that you look to the rest of your house for inspiration. You may also want to consult resources like Pinterest for ideas.

5. Approve Your Bathroom Remodel Design

Next you’ll consult with your interior designer and/or architect to review preliminary floor plans and sketches. These will show how the room’s components — shower, vanity, any cabinetry — fit in the space.

At this point, you’ll focus on the big picture: where the major elements go and the functionality of the space. Don’t worry about the finishing touches like colors and materials. These drawings and scope of work will be used to interview contractors and solicit estimates.

6. Get Estimates From Contractors

It’s a common process to get three separate estimates from licensed contractors for each home remodel project in which you bring in professional help. If you’re already working with a designer, they may know skilled contractors or can help you interview professionals to make sure they’re right for the job.

You’ll want to carefully evaluate each contractor’s bid. Don’t let the highest bid scare you, or immediately jump on the lowest bid.

Recommended: How Do Home Improvement Loans Work?

7. Choose Your Bathroom Materials, Finishes, and Colors

Now it’s time to research materials, so you’ll have a basic knowledge of what you need and final costs. Marble may look great, but it’s not stain-resistant and is a pain to maintain.

Maybe you want to look at easy-to-clean options. Or perhaps you didn’t know that wood can indeed work for countertops in bathrooms if properly treated, or you weren’t aware of the vast stone possibilities that could work with your design.

8. Work on Design Development and Construction Documents

At this stage, you should be actively reviewing the floor plan, elevations, tile layout, and any other relevant drawings associated with your project. More planning on the front end of the project can mean fewer mistakes will arise later in the process.

You’ll also want to be kept up to speed on everything that goes into your project: what materials will be used, and how they will be laid out. If something in construction drawings isn’t specified — such as general tile layout or how you want trim pieces in your shower niche to look — chances are your tile installer will make a decision on the spot, especially if you’re not around on the install day.

This stage will also involve pulling permits. If you’re working with a knowledgeable contractor, they will likely take this on. Many are skilled at navigating the process with contacts they’ve made at the local planning office. If you’re doing much of the work yourself, you’ll need to brush up on what permits you’ll need, and where and how to submit drawings for approval.

9. Plan for Installation and Prepare for Bathroom Demo

In an ideal world, you will have every last detail planned and every material picked out and ordered before construction starts. The last thing you want is to get halfway through your remodel and have to tell your construction crew to take a two-week break while you wait for that back-ordered marble to arrive from Italy.

You’ll also want to nail down the nuts and bolts of how construction will flow and where supplies will be stored. You’ll need a dry space inside for most materials, so you’ll need to decide where you’re going to keep displaced furniture and household items while construction is underway. Can you make space in your garage or on the side of your house?

Other questions to consider:

•   Are you prepared for the disruption?

•   What time will the workers be there, and will someone be on-site to answer questions and oversee the construction?

•   Will it affect your work schedule or any trips planned?

•   Where will you shower during construction?

•   Do you have an alternate place to stay should the inconvenience of not having a bathroom become too much?

•   Who in your family will be available should a construction question come up?

Any last-minute decisions need to take top priority to ensure a smooth-running bathroom remodel that stays on budget and on time.

10. Make a Post-Completion Punch List

Despite meticulous planning, it’s likely that something with your bathroom remodel will go wrong. Maybe you overlooked something, materials arrived broken or scratched or not at all, there’s a dent in the wall, or the caulk was too messy.

Now is the time to make a list of these things, either in an informal email or more formal document with your contractor. Get it into the hands of the person responsible for correcting the mistakes and include a date by which the fixes and finish work should be completed.

It’s normal for a contractor to return several times to address any post-project concerns, so try not to worry. Everyone makes little mistakes in a big, complicated project like a bathroom remodel. Just hold off making your final payment until the problems are fixed.

The Takeaway

A bathroom remodel can be a complex and costly project. Before you jump in, consider the purpose of your remodel, the scope of work it will involve, and your budget. Costs vary widely, anywhere from $9,000 on the low end up to $48,000 on the higher end, with the average falling at $28,500. To keep costs down, take the time to plan meticulously and get multiple bids from contractors.

Need a way to finance your new bathroom remodel? SoFi can help. SoFi’s home improvement loans range from $5K-$100K and they’re unsecured, which means that your house is not used as collateral to secure the loan. Checking your interest rate takes just a minute.

SoFi’s Personal Loan was named NerdWallet’s 2024 winner for Best Personal Loan overall.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Non affiliation: SoFi isn’t affiliated with any of the companies highlighted in this article.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

External Websites: The information and analysis provided through hyperlinks to third-party websites, while believed to be accurate, cannot be guaranteed by SoFi. Links are provided for informational purposes and should not be viewed as an endorsement.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

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How Much Can You Borrow From Your Home Equity?

Many homeowners are flush with equity, and tapping it can be tempting. Some lenders will let you borrow as much as 100% of your home equity — the home’s current value minus the mortgage balance — for any purpose. Your house, though, will be on the line.

Here are things to know before applying for a home equity loan, a home equity line of credit (HELOC), or a cash-out refinance.

What’s the Most You Can Borrow With a Home Equity Loan?

To determine how much you can borrow with a home equity loan, lenders will calculate the combined loan-to-value ratio: your mortgage balance plus the amount you’d like to borrow compared with the appraised value of your home.

Most lenders will require your combined loan-to-value ratio (CLTV) to be 90% or less for a home equity loan or HELOC (although some will allow you to borrow 100% of your home’s value).

combined loan balance ÷ appraised home value = CLTV

Let’s say you have a mortgage balance of $150,000 and you want to borrow $50,000 of home equity. Your combined loan balance would be $200,000. Your home appraises for $300,000. (An appraiser from the lending institution determines your property value.) The math would look like this:

$200,000 ÷ $300,000 = 0.666

Your CLTV is 67%.

If a lender allowed you to borrow 90% of CLTV in this scenario, you would have a loan of $120,000:

($150,000 + $120,000) ÷ $300,000 = 0.900

But just because you might qualify for a loan or line of credit of this amount doesn’t mean it’s a good idea for your personal situation. Consider what the payments, which include interest, would look like and whether your financial situation is secure enough for you to afford them if you suffer a setback.

Three Ways to Tap Home Equity

You paid off a chunk of your mortgage or all of it, or your home value soared along with the market, but now a wedding, college, remodel, or something else has you wanting to put that home equity to use. Here are three ways to do that.

Remember that converting home equity to cash means you’ll be using your home as collateral.

Home Equity Loan

Home equity loans come in a lump sum. They are often useful for big one-time expenses like a new car or swimming pool and for borrowers who know how much they need and who want fixed payments.

Some lenders waive or reduce closing costs of 2% to 5%, but if you pay off and close the loan within a certain period of time — often three years — you may have to repay some of those costs.

HELOC

A HELOC may be helpful for long-term needs such as home renovations, college tuition, or medical bills.

Borrowers who want flexibility when dealing with, say, a home addition may favor a revolving line of credit over a lump-sum loan.

Again, some lenders waive the closing costs for a HELOC if you keep it open for a predetermined period.

Recommended: How Do Home Equity Lines of Credit Work?

Turn your home equity into cash with a HELOC from SoFi.

Access up to 90% or $500k of your home’s equity to finance almost anything.


Cash-Out Refinance

A cash-out refinance might be a good choice if you want to borrow more than you’d qualify for with a home equity loan or HELOC. A cash-out refi replaces your existing mortgage with a new mortgage for more than the previous balance. You receive the difference in cash.

Homeowners will often need to have 20% equity left in the home after refinancing. Some lenders will let them dip below that minimum but pay for private mortgage insurance on the new loan.

Some HELOC borrowers refinance before the draw period ends. In that case, the cash can be used to pay off the HELOC.

You can change the mortgage term and aim for a reduced interest rate with a cash-out refi. Closing costs will be required; it’s a new loan.

Recommended: Cash-Out Refinance vs HELOC

What’s the Difference Between a Home Equity Loan and a HELOC?

A home equity loan, also known as a second mortgage, comes in a lump sum with a repayment term of 10 to 30 years. It typically has a fixed interest rate.

A HELOC is a revolving line of credit that lets a homeowner borrow money as needed, up to the approved credit limit. The credit line has two periods:

•   The draw period, when you can use the line of credit. It’s often 10 years. Minimum monthly payments usually will be interest only on the amount withdrawn.

•   The repayment period, often 20 years, when principal and interest payments are due.

Most HELOCs have a variable interest rate but cap how much the rate can rise at one time and over the loan term. (Some lenders, though, offer fixed-rate HELOCs or allow the borrower to fix the rate on a balance partway through the loan.)

Some HELOCs require you to draw a minimum amount upfront. Some have a balloon payment at the end of the draw period, when the loan principal and interest are due. Ensure that you understand your HELOC’s terms, and when the draw period ends and the credit line is closed.

How Is a HELOC Calculated?

Qualified borrowers are often able to access as much as 90% of their equity with a HELOC.

Some HELOC lenders require that the homeowner retain at least 20% equity in the home, but a few are more generous.

Is Taking Out Home Equity Right for You?

If you’re aware of the risk, you’ve read all the fine print, and you forecast no job or income loss, tapping home equity can be extremely useful.

HELOCs usually have lower interest rates than home equity loans, but some people prefer the fixed rate and payments of the latter. HELOC rates tend to be a tad higher than mortgage rates, but you only have to pay interest on what you borrow during the draw period.

Most cash-out refinances result in a new 30-year fixed-rate mortgage.

Approval for a home equity product and the rate you’re offered will depend on your credit score, debt-to-income ratio, home equity, and home value.

Shopping around can yield the best offer.

Recommended: Home Improvement Cost Calculator

The Takeaway

How much equity can you borrow from your home? Homeowners who meet credit and income requirements are often able to tap up to 90% of equity and sometimes more with a home equity loan or HELOC. A cash-out refi is another way to make use of home equity.

SoFi now offers flexible HELOCs. Our HELOC options allow you to access up to 90% of your home’s value, or $500,000, at competitively low rates. And the application process is quick and convenient.

Unlock your home’s value with a home equity line of credit brokered by SoFi.

FAQ

How can I increase my home equity?

Paying off your mortgage faster, refinancing to a shorter loan term, and making home improvements are some of the ways to boost home equity. In a competitive market, your home value may just naturally rise.

How quickly can I get cash from my home equity?

It depends on the product, but closing can take place in as little as two to four weeks.


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Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria for more information.


²SoFi Bank, N.A. NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC), offers loans directly or we may assist you in obtaining a loan from SpringEQ, a state licensed lender, NMLS #1464945.
All loan terms, fees, and rates may vary based upon your individual financial and personal circumstances and state.
You should consider and discuss with your loan officer whether a Cash Out Refinance, Home Equity Loan or a Home Equity Line of Credit is appropriate. Please note that the SoFi member discount does not apply to Home Equity Loans or Lines of Credit not originated by SoFi Bank. Terms and conditions will apply. Before you apply, please note that not all products are offered in all states, and all loans are subject to eligibility restrictions and limitations, including requirements related to loan applicant’s credit, income, property, and a minimum loan amount. Lowest rates are reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Products, rates, benefits, terms, and conditions are subject to change without notice. Learn more at SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria. Information current as of 06/27/24.
In the event SoFi serves as broker to Spring EQ for your loan, SoFi will be paid a fee.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

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15 Questions to Ask When Interviewing Realtors

Working with a professional real estate agent can make buying or selling a home easier. After all, they are likely to be well versed in the ins and outs of your area, how to best negotiate in the current market, and how to access any other resources (say, a home inspector) that you may need.

Working with a professional real estate agent can make buying or selling a home easier. After all, they are likely to be well versed in the ins and outs of your area, how to best negotiate in the current market, and how to access any other resources (say, a home inspector) that you may need.

While there may be some agents you hit it off with personally, this isn’t a friendship you’re pursuing but an important business relationship. It’s a collaboration that could impact both your finances and your stress level.

No matter which side of a real estate transaction you’re on (buying or selling), it can be wise to have the right professional in your corner. Eighty-nine percent of homes sold in the U.S. involve an agent or a Realtor®, according to a 2023 report. (Realtors are agents who belong to the National Association of Realtors, or NAR.)

If you’re on the hunt for an agent, it’s important to know what to ask to identify the right match. Read on to learn questions to ask, whether you’re buying or selling a property — or doing both at once. (This is a lengthy list of interview questions for real estate, so pick and choose the questions that resonate the most.)

Key Points

•   Interviewing realtors requires asking targeted questions to assess their suitability for your real estate needs.

•   Experience, local market knowledge, and client load are critical factors to inquire about.

•   Understanding a realtor’s team structure and communication methods is essential for collaboration.

•   Specific questions about buying or selling processes help gauge a realtor’s expertise and alignment with your goals.

•   Discussing contract terms and fees upfront avoids future misunderstandings and ensures financial clarity.

How to Interview a Realtor

First, a bit about terminology: Not all real estate agents are Realtors, but for the purposes of this article, we’ll sometimes use the two terms interchangeably.

There are different options for interviewing Realtors. You could schedule an interview:

•   Over the phone

•   In person

•   Virtually via Zoom or Skype.

You might aim to interview at least three agents for comparison’s sake, though you may choose to interview more or fewer.

Create a list of interview questions beforehand to help you stay on track, and begin researching a home loan so you will have a sense of your budget. By the time the interview process is over, you should understand:

•   What the agent’s personality and character are like: Is this person supportive and positive? Do they sound rushed and distracted?

•   What kind of services they offer and what experience they bring to the table.

•   How much you’ll pay for their help.

You’ll learn about how to do this in more depth as you read on.

Recommended: Tips When Shopping for a Mortgage

What to Ask About a Realtor’s Background

Any real estate agent you choose to work with should have the professional qualifications you’re looking for. But it’s also important to get a sense of who they are as an individual to avoid personality clashes. Here are some questions to ask as you evaluate an agent who might help you buy or sell a home.

1. How Long Have You Been a Realtor?

It helps to understand how long an agent you’re considering working with has been buying or selling homes. The median real estate experience of all Realtors is eight years, according to NAR.

Working with an agent who’s newer to the profession isn’t necessarily a bad thing. But one who’s more experienced may be more adept at handling any challenges that arise when buying or selling a home.

2. How Well Do You Know the Local Market?

A Realtor who knows a particular area and its local housing market trends can offer an advantage when buying or selling. Ideally, you should work with an agent who understands the local market and what trends drive it.

The more informed they are, the better equipped they are to do things like comparative market analysis, which can give you a sense of how home prices in the area are trending. They will also likely know details like, say, which parts of town are more prone to flooding than others.

Recommended: Local Housing Market Trends: Popular neighborhoods, home prices, and demographics

3. How Many Clients Do You Work With at One Time?

The answer can give you an idea of how much time an agent will be able to dedicate to working with you. Especially if you ask the follow-up question, “And how many clients do you currently have?”

4. Do You Work Alone or as Part of a Team?

Keep in mind that you may not be working with your Realtor alone to finalize the purchase or sale of a home. Agents may have a team of individuals they work with, including office managers, personal assistants, or marketing directors, who may reach out to you during the process.

Asking who else you may be connected with can help you avoid surprises if you decide to enter into a working relationship with a particular agent.

5. How Will We Communicate and How Often?

Being able to communicate with an agent is important to keep the process moving. Plenty of Realtors email and text to keep in touch with clients. If you’re the kind of person who prefers phone calls or in-person meetings, it’s good to identify communication styles up front and make sure they are in sync.

6. Do You Specialize in Buying or Selling?

Some real estate agents may choose to work exclusively with buyers, while others work only with sellers. And some can act as dual agents, representing both the buyer and seller in the same transaction. Dual agency is rare, and it’s illegal in several states. A dual agent can’t take sides or give advice.

The answer to this question will help you get a better idea of whether the agent is attuned to your side of a real estate transaction. Ideally, you want someone who is passionate about your deal, whether that’s finding the perfect house with a picket fence or selling the condo you’ve outgrown.

7. How Many Transactions Did You Close Last Year?

Asking this question can give you an idea of an agent’s overall success rate and the volume of transactions they handle.

The median number of residential transactions Realtors took part in per year in 2023 is 10. If you’re interviewing agents with closings well below that number, it could be a sign that they aren’t always successful in closing deals. If their number is much higher, it could mean they are super busy and you might not get as much attention as with another agent.

8. How Long Does It Normally Take You to Close a Deal?

Once the seller and the buyer of a property have signed their purchase agreement, closing on a home can take anywhere from a week (for an all-cash offer) to a couple of months (for those involving a mortgage) to close. As of mid-2024, the average closing time on a house was 43 days after an offer was accepted, reports ICE Mortgage Technology, Inc.

Asking a Realtor what their average closing time is can give you an idea of how efficiently and diligently they work to satisfy their clients.

If their average closing time is closer to four or six months, for example, that could be a red flag, though some deals do wind up being more complicated than others.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


9. What Are the Terms of Your Contract?

Working with a Realtor means entering into a contract, and it’s important to know what that contract says. These documents may be more common when you work with a broker to sell a home, but there are also buyer’s agreements.

These ensure that if they invest the time scanning the market for you, scheduling walk-throughs, and negotiating on your behalf, you won’t then complete the deal with, say, a relative of yours who just got their real-estate license.

When you are selling a house, you’ll sign a document agreeing that the agent will handle the sale. Once you sign a contract you’re typically locked in to working with them unless they agree to release you.

The listing agreement will last for a set period, such as three or six months. From your perspective, shorter may be better so that you’re not trapped if you don’t like the agent’s services.

10. What Fees Do You Charge?

Closely connected to contracts is the topic of money. How does it change hands? What are you liable for? Historically, real estate agents worked on commission, and the fee was paid by the seller. Now, real estate commission fees are changing, and while sellers will still likely pay agents a commission, there is no guarantee that the seller will pay the buyer’s agent. If you’re buying, you’ll need to discuss a fee structure with an agent before you begin working together. It might be an hourly fee, or perhaps a flat rate. Some agents may request a percentage of the home price.

Recommended: Do You Still Need to Put a 20% Down Payment on a House?

Questions to Ask a Realtor When You Are Selling

If you’re selling your home, here are some questions to ask to help ensure that you partner with the right agent.

11. What’s Your Typical Marketing Strategy?

A real estate agent should have a clear plan for listing and marketing your home in a way that produces the greatest odds of success in selling it quickly and at your desired price point. Let the agent you are interviewing tell you about their strategy and the results it yields.

For instance, does the Realtor believe in listing at a low price in the hopes of starting a bidding war? If so, what kinds of prices has this achieved? Where will your listing be posted? Will videos be created? Will there be an open house?

These kinds of questions can help you see if you are impressed by and aligned with how a Realtor likes to market homes.

12. Will You Handle Staging and Prep Work?

If you’re selling a home, staging it could help influence buyers’ perceptions of the property and potentially net you a higher sale price.

Staging is something you can do yourself, but your Realtor may have a staging company they work with to get the job done.

Asking about staging or small cosmetic updates, such as painting, can help you figure out what you’ll be responsible for to get your home ready for the market. There’s a price tag attached to all improvements, so you’ll want to know the numbers to be better prepared.

13. How Do You Handle Viewings?

The use of digital tools such as virtual tours have made properties more accessible to more buyers. One survey by Zillow found that almost 40% of Millenials would be comfortable buying a home online vs. in person.

See if your agent plans to create a virtual tour, but you also want to be prepared for the majority of buyers who want to visit in person. Ask Realtors how many viewings they typically schedule in a day or a week, how often open houses will be scheduled, and how they’ll be marketed.

Questions to Ask a Realtor When You Are Buying

Now you’ve learned the questions to ask a Realtor when selling. How about the other side of the deal? Whether you’re shopping for a starter home or trading up, here are a couple of important questions to ask a potential real estate agent when preparing to buy a house.

14. What Happens When I’m Ready to Make an Offer?

If you’re a buyer, agents should be able to walk you through how this process works, what to do if the seller makes a counteroffer, and what you’ll need to do next if your offer is accepted. You also want to check if they have experience with successfully navigating bidding wars, which can happen in hot markets and with well-priced properties.

Also check that they can advise you on how much earnest money you might need to pay and how to find a good, affordable home inspector, as these are important aspects of the homebuying process.

15. Will You Help Me With Getting a Mortgage?

This question will shed more light on a prospective agent’s network and experience. Agents may be able to offer recommendations for mortgage lenders. They may also be willing to communicate with your lender if there are questions about the property or the offer during underwriting.

You’re not obligated to use your Realtor’s recommended lender. In fact, it’s helpful to compare mortgage loan terms and interest rates from multiple lenders to find the option that best fits your needs.

The Takeaway

Due diligence in the search for the right real estate agent may mean interviewing a few of them and not automatically going with a friend of a friend. It’s important to know how to interview a Realtor and which questions to ask, so you can pair up with the best possible professional as you navigate this major transaction.

If you’re a buyer, once you’ve found an agent, you can turn your attention to next steps: finding a home (and a home loan) that suits your needs.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

What are the benefits of using a real estate agent to buy a house?

Having an agent to survey the available properties and recommend the ones that suit your needs could certainly save you time, and agents often have local market expertise and the inside scoop on properties that might be headed to market. An agent should also be well versed in the negotiation process (especially useful in a seller’s market) and able to help coordinate the many moving parts that lead to a closing.

What should a homebuyer do before talking to a real estate agent?

It’s wise to have an idea of your budget before consulting a real estate agent. You can prequalify for a mortgage with a few lenders to get a sense of what you might be able to borrow. Also do research online about your desired town or neighborhood to get a sense of where you would like to live. And know your non-negotiables — minimum number of bedrooms, whether you prefer an old home or new construction, for example.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria for more information.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

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How to Buy a House Without a Realtor

Most people you know who have bought a home have probably done so with the help of a Realtor® or real estate agent. In fact, a 2023 report shows that 89% of home purchases involve a Realtor or broker. (Realtors, by the way, are real estate agents who belong to the National Association of Realtors, requiring them to adhere to a certain code of ethics; we’ll use the terms interchangeably here.)

But agents may charge a fee, so you might be asking yourself, “Do I need a Realtor or real estate agent to buy a house?” The answer is no — you aren’t required to go through a professional to complete the transaction.

That said, doing without an agent is not a decision to make lightly. Buying a house is likely the biggest investment you’ll ever make. So if you make a mistake in the home-buying process, there’s a lot of money and possibly other risks on the line. Let’s take a look at the pros and cons of going solo as a home shopper.

What Does a Real Estate Agent Do?

Before you decide whether or not to forgo a real estate agent, it can be a good idea to brush up on what they actually do.

Real estate agents are licensed to help clients buy and sell real estate. Realtors, as mentioned, have to follow an ethics code, which includes putting their clients’ interests first.

Among the work that real estate agents do for buyers is:

•   Look for property listings that fit their clients’ goals

•   Check out listings in person

•   Write offers and counteroffers

•   Be present for inspections

•   Help negotiate with the seller

•   Troubleshoot any roadblocks that come up

They can also often help with a variety of referrals, whether to a mortgage broker, a home stager, a real estate lawyer, or a contractor.

How to Buy a House Without a Real Estate Agent

If you want to join the few buyers who forge ahead and buy a house without a Realtor, it’s important to prepare yourself to take on the tasks agents normally do.

Especially if you’re green, it’s essential to learn how you can prepare to buy a home. Here’s a rundown of some of the key responsibilities you will likely need to manage.

Step 1. Consider Your Mortgage Options

Unless you are an all-cash buyer, you’ll need to explore the different types of mortgage loans. You could get prequalified for a mortgage with several lenders so you have a sense of what size mortgage loan you might qualify for.

Step 2. Research Neighborhoods

As you zero in on neighborhoods that meet your criteria, then it’s a good idea to do your research and learn the price of recent sales. This will help you understand if the homes you tour are priced correctly — and if they fit within your budget.

Step 3. Get Preapproved For a Home Loan

As your house search starts to heat up, you’ll probably want to get preapproved for a mortgage. Once your application is processed, you’ll have a preapproval letter to share with sellers to reassure them that you’re serious about buying. The lender will consider your income, your debt-to-income ratio, credit scores, and ability to make a down payment and meet closing costs.

Step 4. Hire a Home Inspector

When you find a home you’re interested in, it’s recommended that you hire a home inspector. This professional will issue a report that lets you know the ins and outs of a home’s condition and may lead to further negotiation.

Step 5. Request a Seller’s Disclosure

Ask for a seller’s disclosure, a document that can contain information about repairs and upgrades the seller did on the home as well as problems they’re aware of. You can ask them about any structural problems; condition of the HVAC, plumbing, and electrical systems; mold and mildew; termite damage; the presence of lead paint, radon, and asbestos, and so forth.

Step 6. Make An Offer

The offer will include the amount you’re offering, what you’d like to stay in the home (such as appliances), and closing dates. Including an appraisal contingency in the offer means you can cancel the contract if something goes wrong without losing your deposit.

Recommended: How to Make An Offer On a House

Step 7. Hire a Real Estate Lawyer

It’s usually a good idea to hire a real estate lawyer to prepare documents and look over your contract before you sign it.

Step 8. Negotiate

Sellers, meanwhile, will likely include a loan contingency. During this part of the process, there may be counteroffers and negotiations between you and the seller about the price of the home or repairs you might want the seller to make. The appraiser will also file a report on the home, so that you and your lender can feel confident the home’s value matches its price. Keep copies of all communications as negotiations progress.

Step 9. Finalize Documentation and Close On Your Property

At the closing of the loan, you’ll need to sign documents and handle other aspects that a Realtor might typically help you with.

It is typically recommended that the buyer obtain owner’s title insurance, which protects the buyer against title defects such as mechanic’s liens and other after-closing problems. It usually costs about $1,000, but will vary with the price of your home and from state to state.

Recommended: How Long Does It Take to Close On a House?

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


Benefits of Buying a House Without a Realtor

Buying a home without a real estate professional can have some upsides. Here’s a closer look at the benefits you might reap.

1. Saving Money

Historically, there wasn’t much incentive for a homebuyer to work without a real estate agent because the agent’s commission fees were paid by the seller. But starting in mid-2024, the landscape changed. Now real estate commission fees are changing, and there is no guarantee that the seller will pay the buyer’s agent. Instead, the buyer and agent need to discuss a fee structure before they begin working together. You might find that an agent is paid an hourly fee, or perhaps charges a flat rate. Some agents may request a percentage of the home price.

While working without an agent may save you money, how much is up in the air. The only thing you can be certain of is that if you don’t use an agent, you will work harder to find a home and close the deal.

2. Info Galore

If you’re planning on buying a house without a Realtor, you likely have access to some of the same information that the pros do. Historically, agents had lots of insider tidbits about listings.

Now, you can instantly find out about new properties and neighborhood demographics with the click of a button online. That means taking the buying process into one’s own hands is considered by some as increasingly feasible. Plus, there are an array of great tools to help you with calculations, like a home affordability calculator.

And since no one knows what you are looking for as well as you do, the search process can sometimes be more efficient.

3. A Familiar Real Estate Deal

One situation where it might make sense to eschew an agent is if a friend or family member is selling you the property.

Although risks may still be involved, the transaction may be more straightforward if you are buying a house from a relative or someone you know well. You still want to make sure you and the seller are clear on the price, closing date, what furniture or fixtures will be included, contingencies, and more.

It is typically recommended that a buyer review and approve home inspections and obtain full loan approval in writing before lifting certain contingencies.

If it is known that a contingency date cannot be met or another material change takes place after the contract is written, such as a seller credit for closing costs, a contract addendum executed by all parties outlining the change is usually obtained.

Check out local real estate
market trends to help with
your home-buying journey.


Drawbacks of Buying Without a Realtor

Not hiring a real estate agent or Realtor to assist you with your home search comes with disadvantages and risks.

1. All the Work

You have to be constantly on the ball, keeping a lookout for properties and arranging a time with sellers to visit them.

The process can be exhausting and time consuming, and if you aren’t attentive, you could let great homes slip by or make the hunt longer than it might have been with a real estate agent.

You’ll also have to navigate the world of mortgages (from the mortgage basics to possibly buying points to bring down your rate) without an agent to serve as a sounding board or offer a second opinion.

2. All the Risk

You’ll be on the hook for all the details of the transaction. Without an agent, you’ll need to determine the correct bid price and terms, watch the contract contingency dates, and know the ins and outs of the purchase contract.

Agents are experienced in helping to point to hidden flaws in the property or transaction.

If you don’t have a real estate agent in your corner to help research the proper bid price, you may risk paying more than you need to on the home — which may work out to more money spent.

3. Your Pool of Knowledge May Not Be That Deep

Agents have access to information that’s not necessarily online, thanks to their connections with other real estate agents, inspectors, etc.

Then there’s the experience factor. Most agents operate under a seasoned broker who oversees and consults on various transactions.

It could take a lot of effort to figure out what a Realtor has learned through years on the job and ongoing education. That learning curve may not be worth your time.

Factors to Consider When You Buy Without an Agent

So now that you have read about how to buy a home without a Realtor, as well as the pros and cons, perhaps you are still thinking that flying solo is right for you. If so, do one more check-in and consider these factors:

Market Knowledge

You will not have in-depth, ongoing insight into housing prices in the area where you are searching. A Realtor can help you understand pricing history, potential upcoming property-tax hikes, local drainage or flood potential, and more. They are often skilled at pointing out distinctive features as well as potential problem areas with homes.

Negotiation Strategy

Real estate agents typically have years of experience knowing when a home seller is negotiable and by how much. They can guide you through offers and counteroffers, as well as bidding wars. They also know next steps if a home inspection points out significant problem areas or if there are hitches as you work through your mortgage contingencies. This can save you time and stress, as well as keep your deal in play.

Red Tape and Paperwork

Bidding on and purchasing a home involves all kinds of paperwork, including mortgage applications, offers, contracts, title searches, and more. For someone who is not familiar with the process (you, quite possibly), this can be a steep, time-consuming, and possibly frustrating learning curve. A Realtor can help alleviate a chunk of this burden.

Professional Connections

As noted above, it can take a village of professionals to finalize a home sale. Some of the people who may be involved include mortgage brokers, home inspectors, roof inspectors, real estate lawyers, contractors, and more. Most real estate agents have an extensive network to quickly get you the connections you need to qualified professionals.

The Takeaway

Do you need a real estate agent to buy a house? No, you don’t. It’s entirely possible to learn how to buy a home without a Realtor and perhaps avoid paying for the agent’s time and expertise. Just realize all of the work and risk involved in finding a home, making an offer, handling contingencies, and closing the deal.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

Can you make an offer on a house without a real estate agent?

A buyer is not required to be represented by a real estate agent in order to make an offer on a house, but unless the house is for sale by owner, you’ll need to work with the seller’s agent to communicate your offer to the owner.

Does buying a house without a real estate agent reduce the price?

Not necessarily. Even if you, as the buyer, are not represented by a real estate agent, the seller may use an agent to list and show the home and process offers.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria for more information.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

This article is not intended to be legal advice. Please consult an attorney for advice.

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